Paris VII: The Lourve

lourve 8We ventured out of the subway stop and avoided puddles under the cloudy sky as we made way to one of the most famous art museums of the world: Musée du Louvre. Home to the overrated portrait of Mona Lisa and famous setting from the popular novel The Da Vinici Code. I remember my high school art teacher lamenting to us how ridiculous people are so fixed on Da Vinci’s painting and would be done with the place. I always remembered that even she said that my freshman year of high school. We had the opportunity to spend several hours in the museum before we caught our train back to London. It was about 9:30 and the place was not packed. So we took advantage of that and zoomed toward the Mona Lisa. If we paid her the obligatory visit we would then be free for the rest of the afternoon. The closer we got to it the more crowded it got until we finally got there. Entering the room I found a mob of people squished together with barely enough room to breathe with their arms in their air flashing pictures. We fought our way in. lourve 7Glanced at it for a few seconds with people fighting you for a chance to get just a centimeter closer, took our pictures, and flew out of the increasingly aggressive crowd. lourve 6

I am surprised how much I enjoyed the museum. You could spend your entire life in the Lourve and still not see all 35,000 pieces currently placed there. It ranges from prehistoric works to ancient Greek/Roman works up to modern pieces. The venues I saw were mainly the Italian/Spanish Renaissance pieces & ancient Roman/Greek/Egyptian works. I was most impressed with the Italian Renaissance pieces, maybe that’s because I am most familiar with those pieces, the scenes they depict, and the history. They mostly dealt with religious, biblical, and Catholic scenes. Yet I have a growing interest in ancient Rome and Greece, so I really enjoyed the statues (yes the famous Venus de Milo) and excavated objects. I took a lot of pictures in the Lourve-probably more than I should have. But some of the pieces really are amazing: the detail, the color, the shadowing, the scenes. I was able to see the brush strokes on some works and some cracks on others. It’s great that people are allowed extremely close to these works so that detail can be seen. Just to know you are standing in the presence of some of the world’s most beloved and cherished pieces of artwork of all times is amazing. Below are some of my favorite works that I saw there. Click pictures to make bigger. lourve 2

The Prodigal Son The son returns home to the embrace of his father after squandering his money in a foreign land. Maybe I should take a hint. lourve3

lourve 4lourve 10lourve 5A Pieta, the detail & use of color was amazing.

louve 9lourve

 

One thought on “Paris VII: The Lourve

Leave a Reply

